Yukon Orienteering Championships on June 14, 2023

The shortest distance championship event, a sprint, took place on the Porter Creek map. This map isn't used very often which meant a fun orienteering challenge for all participants. Just over 40 people came out on this sunny evening and they chose one of four courses, from novice (1.1km) to expert (2.4km). All courses included plenty of opportunity to enjoy the lupines!

Nelia Turcotte posted the fastest time on the Novice course, with siblings Linden and Selwyn Cronmiller placing second and third. A special shoutout to Romy Willomitzer who completed the course on her bike.

Ian Turcotte won the Intermediate course while fellow junior Leo wasn't far behind. Darcy Olesen was the fastest adult on this course and beat Gerry Willomitzer by only five seconds! We welcomed a few newcomers to the event and all of them completed the Intermediate course in good time.

The fastest orienteer on the Advanced course was Carl Turcotte and Sitka Land-Gillis placed second. Sara Nielsen posted the fastest time of all adults who completed this course with Barbara Scheck taking second place.

Benoit Turcotte was the fastest competitor on the Expert course, Dahria Beatty came in second place, and Jeremy Johnson placed third.

All in all a great evening for the Turcotte family members who swept the event!

Thanks to Forest Pearson for mentoring the event organizer. Karen McKenna, Barbara Scheck, Sara and Lene Nielsen all assisted with registration and control pick up - thank you!

The final Yukon Orienteering Championships, the long distance event, takes place on the Mt Mac map on Wednesday June 21st at 6pm.

Novice	1.1km & 15 controls
juniors	

Nelia Turcotte	0:16:18
Linden Cronmiller & Justine Scheck	0:26:27
Selwyn & Derek Cronmiller	0:26:39
Romy Willomitzer	0:31:30

Intermediate 1.5km & 13 controls

juniors

lan Turcotte	0:15:29
Leo Willomitzer	0:16:11
1 1.	

adults

Darcy Olesen 0:16:08

Gerry Willomitzer Wendy Tayler, Cheylsea Mitchell & Atticus Lenore Morris Chantal Frances Fatema Jivadi & Emilie Stewart-Jones Frances Brooksbank Lene Nielsen Gwen Hogan Ev Pasichnyk	0:16:13 0:30:30 0:34:42 0:34:45 0:40:49 0:44:39 0:49:58 0:53:36 1:01:26
Advanced 1.8km & 14 controls	
juniors	0.40.40
Carl Turcotte	0:13:42
Sitka Land-Gillis	0:16:08
adults	0.16.57
Sara Nielsen Barbara Scheck	0:16:57
Karen McKenna	0:17:27 0:22:39
Mac Clohan	0:22:39
Kristina Gardner	0:22:51
Bruce McLean	0:27:01
Craig Brooks	0:23:53
Nesta Leduc	0:38:53
Nesta Ledde	0.30.33
Expert 2.4km & 17 controls	
Benoit Turcotte	0:14:20
Dahria Beatty	0:15:05
Jeremy Johnson	0:17:05
Afan Jones	0:18:50
Emilie Stewart-Jones	0:19:05
Jennifer MacKeigan	0:19:52
Erik Blake	0:21:13
Bob Sagar	0:25:37
Doug Hitch & Nicky Rosenberg	0:54:47
Sabine Schweiger	MP
not competing due to mentoring of the event:	
Forest Pearson	0:13:42
Torest rearson	3.13.72